Sherborne Deanery

The grace of the Lord Jesus be with His people

Salisbury Diocese

General Information 

The Diocese of Salisbury is a Church of England diocese in the south of England. The diocese covers Dorset and most of Wiltshire (excepting Swindon and a part of north Wiltshire) and is a constituent diocese of the Province of Canterbury. The diocese is led by the Bishop of Salisbury (in vacancy)  and the diocesan synod. Salisbury Cathedral is the liturgical centre of the diocese.    

Follow this link for a history of Salisbury Diocese 

Ecclesiastical Province Canterbury
Archdeaconries Dorset, Sarum, Sherborne, Wilts
Parishes 459
Churches 582 
Cathedral Salisbury Cathedral
Current leadership

Diocesan Bishop

 Stephen Lake           Bishop of Salisbury

Suffragan Bishops

Karen Gorham 

Andrew Rumsey

Bishop of Sherborne

(Acting Diocesan Bishop)

 Bishop of Ramsbury


Antony MacRow-Wood
Alan Jeans
Penny Sayer 
Sue Groom           

Archdeacon of Dorset
Archdeacon of Sarum  
Archdeacon of Sherborne 
Archdeacon of Wilts

Salisbury Diocese

Map of the dioceses of the Church of England showing Salisbury Diocese in red.


  • Rev Tony Gilbert
  • The Rectory, Church Road
  • Thornford
  • Dorset
  • DT9 6QE

Email Us